Huron County is home to a diversity of unique and interesting museums and attractions. Ranging from some of the finest museums and galleries in Canada – to wonderful windmills, walking bridges, parks and wildlife reserves, a casino, horse track and auto racing facility – Huron County has a museum and attraction for all interests and ages!

 


29 Results Found Page 1 of 2 | Next | Last
Auburn & Area
Ball's Bridge
- THE BRIDGE THAT LOVE BUILT
Ball’s Bridge was built in 1885 when a smitten engineer, working on the bridge at the mouth of the Maitland in Goderich, fell in love with one of the Ball daughters. He built Ball’s Bridge so that she would no longer have to get her feet wet when crossing the Maitland River near her home. Ball's Bridge has been a part of the Maitland River landscape for over 125 years! Ball's Bridge appears to retain an excellent degree of historic integrity. Ball's Bridge, as a two span structure, is exceptionally rare, and stands out as a significant example among Ontario’s remaining pin connected truss bridges. Even the construction of the bridge back in 1885 resulted in
a marriage between the bridge engineer and a member of the Ball family. Take a drive over this bridge and witness its tranquillity.

Located 4.5 km south of Auburn on Little Lakes Rd. Just west of Baseline Road (County Rd. #8). Follow the signs.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 526-7514
Website: www.ballsbridgeontario.com
Address:
38498 Ball's Ln
Auburn, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1E0

Bayfield & Area
Bayfield Heritage Society, Heritage Centre & Archives
Established in 1965, the Bayfield Historical Society's mandate is to collect, record and preserve local history.

A new Heritage Centre is located in the 1893 historic building at 20 Main Street North in Bayfield and the recently renovated and expanded Archives room is now housed in the adjacent former Bayfield Library building.

The Heritage Centre will be open to the public Wednesdays to Sundays from Victoria Day through to Labour day and the Archives building will be staffed from 1 - 4 pm on Wed. and Sat or by appointment. Self guided tour booklet ($5) available at the Heritage Centre and at the Village Bookshop at 24 Main. St. N. Group guided walking tours by appointment.

The Society holds regular monthly meetings featuring interesting speakers and topics. All are welcome to attend the fourth Monday of each month at 7:30 pm (Feb. to Nov.) at the Lions Community Building at 6 Municipal Road.

For more information, call Society Vice President Judy Keightley at 519-565-4515 or email bayarchives@tcc.on.ca
or by regular mail to:
P.O. Box 161, 20 Main Street North, Bayfield, Ontario, N0M 1G0
Phone: 519-565-2454 Fax: 519-565-5799
or visit our website at www.bayfieldhistorical.ca
Contact Info:
Contact:

Telephone: (519) 440-6206
Alternate Telephone: (519) 565-5532
Email: bayarchives@tcc.on.ca
Website: www.bayfieldhistorical.ca
Address:
20 Main St N
Bayfield, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1G0

Clinton & Area
Clinton Racetrack
Bring the whole gang to Ontario’s family track for a day of exciting harness racing. Live racing runs at 1:30 p.m. from May- August.

With a swimming pool, skateboard park and gaming facility, Clinton Raceway caters to people of all ages. While at the races, visit the history rich Raceway Café located at OLG Slots at Clinton Raceway. A huge mural depicts the past and present of the Raceway with plenty of local horse pictures to bring back some old racing memories. Bring your group to the races and receive great group benefits with free programs, betting vouchers and more. Live entertainment, promotions and giveaways throughout the summer make Clinton Raceway your first stop for family fun.

Clinton Racetrack
Open 7 days per week (Clinton Racetrack Slots)
P.O. Box 778, 147 Beech Street, Clinton, Ontario, N0M 1L0
Phone: 519-482-1489 (Race Office); 519-482-5320 (General Inquiries)
[www.clintonraceway.com]
Free Admission.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 482-5270
Alternate Telephone: (519) 482-5320
Email: cdejong@clintonraceway.com
Website: www.clintonraceway.com
Address:
147 Beech St
PO Box 778
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1L0

Clinton & Area
Hullett Provincial Wildlife Area
is a 2,200 hectare site along the South Maitland River, providing
superb opportunities to see wildlife management at its best. The forests, fields and wetlands present at Hullett Marsh provide a wide diversity of wildlife species for all outdoor enthusiasts. The Friends of Hullett, partnered with the Ministry of Natural Resources and Ducks Unlimited, manage Hullett as a multi-use facility for hikers, canoeists, hunters, horseback riders and birders.

Typically, Hullett is for day use on a self-guided basis. Organized groups are asked to coordinate their activities through the office to prevent user conflicts. Group tours may be arranged through the Friends of Hullett Office. Hullett Marsh is located 6 km northeast of Clinton between Hydro Line Road and Summerhill Road and can be reached by travelling north from Hwy. 8 and east from Hwy. 4.

Friends of Hullett / Hullett Provincial Wildlife Area
Box 1520, Clinton, Ontario, N0M 1L0
Phone: 519-482-7011, [fohoffice@tcc.on.ca], [www.hullettmarsh.com]
Area is open year round from 5 am to 9 pm daily. Donations appreciated.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 482-7011
Email: fohoffice@tcc.on.ca
Website: www.hullettmarsh.com
Address:
41378 Hydro Line Rd
PO Box 1520
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1L0

Clinton & Area
OLG Slots at Clinton Raceway
You'll love the sights and sounds of OLG Slots at Clinton Raceway. Step onto the lively gaming floor to experience the lights, jackpot bells and friendly people. With over 120 exciting slots like In the Money, Blazing 7'a, China Shores and Texas Dice, choose your favourite games ranging from 1 cent to $1! Relax while you enjoy a snack at the Raceway Cafe. So let the fun begin and visit OLG Slots at Clinton Raceway today.

Open Daily at 8 am.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 482-7540 x4285
Fax: (519) 482-8984
Email: glavis@olgc.ca
Website: www.olgslotsandcasinos.ca/olg-slots/clinton-raceway
Address:
147 Beech St
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1L0

Clinton & Area
School on Wheels Railcar Museum
It isn’t often that the main artefact of a museum is the museum itself. But so it is with the School on Wheels Railcar Museum, resting on its specially built rail bed in south Clinton’s Sloman Park . July 26, 2014 marked the 100th birthday of Car 15089.

Town native Fred Sloman and his family spent 10 months of the year in the railcar, from 1926 to 1965, in order to educate children living in remote areas of Northern Ontario bush. In 1982, the burned out shell of School Railcar 15089 was located near Toronto and began the journey to its final destination, arriving in Clinton courtesy of a Canadian National Railway freight train. Since then, it has been faithfully restored—creating living history for thousands of visitors.

Knowledgeable curators take visitors on informative tours from the May long weekend to the end of September, Thursdays through Sundays and on holiday Mondays. Historical video footage, children’s activities, picnics and a picture perfect photography location are part of this rare restoration.

Located at 76 Victoria Terrace.
P.O. Box 488, Clinton, Ontario, N0M 1L0 Phone: 519-482-3997
[www.schoolcar.ca]
Open from Victoria Day weekend till end of September.
Thursday to Sunday and holidays: 11 am to 4 pm.
Admission by donation.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 482-3997
Website: www.schoolcar.ca
Address:
76 Victoria Terrace
Sloman Park
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1L0

Clinton & Area
Woodlands Arboretum & Nature Centre
is established on land first settled in 1838 by the Jenkins family. The Centre was established by Gord & Paula Lobb to honour Edward Jenkins. The Centre consists of several areas: an arboretum, a nut grove and many nature trails. These areas are available for use by members of the community as well as for use by elementary and secondary school students involved in environmental programs. The arboretum has over 120 native and Carolinian trees organized and planted into groups according to their leaf composition. Signs identify all the groups of trees. The nut grove serves well as a study area and provides food for the numerous and varied wildlife of the area. The nature trails pass through several areas of natural vegetation for the enjoyment of the visitor, including uplands, lowlands, meadows, wetlands and a pond. Woodlands is an Audubon Society recognized site. #37858

Huron Rd (Hwy. #8).
Woodland Links Ltd., R.R. #3, Clinton, Ontario, N0M 1L0
519-482-7144 Fax: 519-482-7588
[www.woodlandslinks.com]
Open all year round. Please check in at pro shop. Admission is free.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 482-7144
Fax: (519) 482-7588
Website: www.woodlandslinks.com
Address:
37858 Huron Rd
RR 3
Clinton, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1L0

Goderich & Area
Huron County Museum
is always changing, and always inspiring. Permanent exhibits depict the early settlement and development of Huron County. The History Hall, with store fronts and a locomotive, allows you to stroll back in time. Temporary exhibits cover a wide spectrum of subjects of special interest.

Young people enjoy turning the handles that bring the handmade models created by Museum Founder Herbert Neill to life. An extensive Military Gallery, Furniture Gallery and Agricultural Displays interest and fascinate the visitor.

The County Archives are located at the museum - appointments are required, phone 519-524-2686 ext. 201.

110 North Street, Goderich, Ontario, N7A 2T8 519-524-2686 Fax: 519-524-1922, [www.huroncounty.ca/museum]. Open year round. Please visit our website or phone for special events and to confirm hours of operation prior to your visit. Admission charged. Wheelchair accessible.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-2686
Fax: (519) 524-1922
Email: museum@huroncounty.ca
Website: www.huroncounty.ca/museum
Address:
110 North St
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 2T8

Goderich & Area
Huron Historic Gaol
is a unique and imposing octagonal building which served as the County Jail from its first prisoner in 1841 until 1972 when all inmates were transferred to regional facilities. The Gaol is a designated National Historic Site. The building originally housed the County Courts and Council Chambers, as well as serving as Gaol and House of Refuge. The Gaol’s architect was Thomas Young, and at the time of construction was viewed as a model of humanitarian prison design.

The Governor’s House was built in 1901 in the area of one of the courtyards, and illustrates the important status of this position within a rural Ontario community in the early part of this century. Visitors find this site a special place to explore and truly a step back in time.

181 Victoria St., N., (Hwy. #21), Goderich, Ontario, 519-524-2686, [www.huroncounty.ca/museum]. Open May 1 to October 23, 2016. Please visit our website or phone 519-524-6971 or 519-524-2686 for hours of operation and special events. Admission charged. Not wheelchair accessible.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-6971
Alternate Telephone: (519) 524-2686
Email: museum@huroncounty.ca
Website: www.huroncounty.ca/museum
Address:
181 Victoria St N
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 2S9

Goderich & Area
Laithwaite Legacy
Located 1 km east of Goderich. Farm near Goderich has fascinated visitors for four generations with its many sculptures fashioned from cement, metal, fieldstone and found materials by George Laithwaite (1873-1956).

Some of his human figures were created as satirical or political commentary on world events, while others were based on comic strip characters.

In 1945 George Laithwaite erected a stone coach house which served as his studio. Most of his statues were created as a hobby during slow economic times.

The uniqueness and diversity of these statues has made Apple Park a local landmark. Visitors are welcome to view the statues on three acres of lawn. Laithwaite Apple Park also offers a farm store selling seasonal products.
Laithwaite Apple Park
R.R.#2, 35563 Huron Rd( East on Hwy 8)., Goderich, Ontario, N7A 3X8
Phone: 519-524-7763
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-7763
Address:
35563 Huron Rd
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 3X8

Goderich & Area
Menesetung Bridge
In 1990, a group of local citizens came together to stave off demolition of the C.P.R. railway bridge over the Maitland River. The structure, the longest of its kind when built in 1907, was last used by the C.P.R. as a rail line in 1988 and now forms part of the G.A.R.T.- the Goderich to Auburn Rail Trail. The refurbishing of the structure was financed to a large extent by sponsors whose names are inscribed on planks and railings. This bridge will serve as a dramatic western terminus for the Goderich to Guelph trail which is currently under development. Looking west from the bridge, visitors have unobstructed view of the harbour, the mine, and Lake Huron. To the east lie magnificent views of the Maitland River Valley. Such vistas make the bridge one of the most frequently visited sites in the area as nearly 15 000 hikers, runners, walkers and fishers use the bridge on an annual basis. This monument to the area's history and its traditions in agriculture, transportation, and industry represents the interest of local citizens who continue to preserve this impressive structure for future generations.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-6988
Address:
PO Box 443
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 4C7

Goderich & Area
The Port of Goderich
waterfront and harbour areas have a rich marine history dating back before the first European settlers arrived. An intriguing blend of maritime, manufacturing and social history combines to create a special heritage chronicle. Walking the waterfront walkways will permit you to immerse yourself in the vivid memories of yesteryear. The Marine Heritage Walkway signs are written in the
casual language of a very readable local history and highlight many of the key points of major interest across the Goderich waterfront. The Waterfront Walk follows the Boardwalk from the Main Beach, through St. Christopher’s Beach to Rotary Cove. The North Harbour Walk follows the Maitland River along North Harbour Road to a connecting Rail Trail leading to Tiger Dunlop’s Tomb. The Bluff Walk follows the hilltop park system overlooking the waterfront. Tour bus access to walkway/viewpoint sites.
Open year round during daylight hours. Free admission. Brochures and maps available at Tourist Information Centre. Contact: Tourism Goderich 1-800-280-7637 or tourism@goderich.ca
Official Vacation Guide Sponsor
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-6600
Email: tourism@goderich.ca
Website: www.goderich.ca
Address:
57 West St
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 2K5

Goderich & Area
Reuben R. Sallows Gallery
Facebook Link
is home to the largest public collection of this renowned photographer's work, whose art continues to offer insight into rural Canadian lives around the turn of the twentieth century. During his sixty year career, his artistic skill was recognized internationally, securing him a reputation for being a "photographic genius". Explore the rich artistic legacy of Reuben R. Sallows with two unique exhibits per year. The Gallery is located on the mezzanine level of the historic Goderich Public Library.

The Reuben R. Sallows Gallery, 52 Montreal St. Goderich, Ontario, N7A 2G4 519 525-5559 [sallowsgallery@huroncounty.ca], [www.sallowsgallery.ca]
Open Mon-Fri 10 am to 7:30 pm and Sat. 10 to 4:30 pm.
"TALKING TUESDAYS" 1 - 4PM (VOLUNTEER ON SITE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS, TOURS ETC.)
SUNDAY 1 - 4:30PM (FROM LABOUR DAY TO VICTORIA DAY -CLOSED IN THE SUMMER)
Admission by donation. Wheelchair accessible.
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 525-5559
Email: sallowsgallery@huroncounty.ca
Website: www.sallowsgallery.ca
Address:
52 Montreal St
Mezzanine
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 2G4

Goderich & Area
Tiger Dunlop's Tomb
honours Dr. William Dunlop (1792-1848), a physician, author, woodsman, soldier, politician, raconteur -and one of Huron County’s most colourful historical figures. Born in Scotland, he served in Canada as an army surgeon during the War of 1812. His writings, including articles based on his residence in India (1817-1819), won him a place among the witty contributors to Blackwood’s Magazine with the title of “Tiger.” In 1826, Dunlop emigrated to Upper Canada. As “Warden of the Forests” for the Canada Company, he assisted John Galt in opening up the Huron Tract and in 1827 founded Goderich.

The Tiger Dunlop Heritage Trail starts behind the elevators at the Goderich Harbour. It crosses North Harbour Road to the Menesetung Bridge where there is a magnificent view of the Maitland River. Beyond the bridge, the trail continues to Tiger Dunlop’s Tomb. Informative history panels on site.

For more information, contact the Huron County Museum at 519-524-2686, [museum@huroncounty.ca], [www.huroncounty.ca/museum]. Also visit the Maitland Trail website at: [www.maitlandtrail.ca]
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 524-2686
Email: museum@huroncounty.ca
Website: www.huroncounty.ca/museum
Address:
c/o Huron County Museum
110 North St
Goderich, Ontario, Canada
N7A 2T8

Grand Bend & Area
Grand Bend & Area Chamber of Commerce
Grand Bend and Lambton Shores, located on Lake Huron. 40 minutes northwest of London, boasts a family-friendly Blue Flag beach, marinas, professional live theatre, drive-in movie theatre, weekly farmers' market (Forest and Grand Bend), professional motor racing, skydiving, parasailing, golf, mini golf, art galleries, glass studios, dining and shopping. Pinery Provincial park and conservation areas offer cycling, hiking, canoeing, paddle-boating, fossil-hunting and waterfall. Varied accommodations - cottages, B&Bs, motel/hotels. Internet hotspots on Main Street and other locations.

1-81 Crescent St., PO Box 248, Grand Bend, ON N0M 1T0
Phone: 519-238-2001 and 1-888-338-2001
Email: info@grandbendtourism.com Website: www.grandbendtourism.com
Official Vacation Guide Sponsor
Contact Info:
Telephone: (519) 238-2001
Toll Free: 1-888-338-2001
Email: info@grandbendtourism.com
Website: www.grandbendtourism.com
Address:
PO Box 248
1-81 Crescent
Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
N0M 1T0

return to top of page

29 Results Found Page 1 of 2 | Next | Last

Search Tourism Directory

Twitter

Meet your new summer plans! These 5 summer events in the Port of Goderich, "Canada's Prettiest Town" are a MUST... fb.me/1YHzufYRz

Download the new Huron County Tourism Guide by clicking here